k1,*yo, k2tog*

About me, myself, and I and the hobbies I have, including, but not limited to knitting. Oh, yeah, and my family too.

My Photo
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, United States

Native Hoosier who never escaped. Living with hubby and kid in a house packed with too many crafts. And this is a problem how?

Wednesday, May 18, 2005

100 things about me (plus or minus)

I've seen these silly things all over, and figured that I'd go ahead and be a sheep. So here goes.

I am a life-long Hoosier (whatever the heck that is).
I’m 6 feet tall. So is my husband.
My mom still lives in my hometown of Muncie. It looks nothing like what you see in "Close Encounters of the Third Kind."
My father died when I was 18, two days after I graduated high school.
I get my sense of humor from my dad.
I am a Sagittarius with Libra rising. My son is a Libra.
I was born in the Chinese year of the Dragon. So was my son.
I've been married twice.
I have an older brother named Joe.
I introduced my brother to both of his wives.
I have a niece and two nephews.
Montano is my maiden name.
It’s Italian, not Spanish.
My mom traced the family back almost to God. 442 BC to be precise.
Charlemagne is an umpty-ump great grand father.
I know most of the words to “I’m My Own Grandpa.”
My father told me I was over the hill when I turned 12.
I was born with bi-lateral congenital hip dysplasia (no hip sockets).
I was in a plaster cast for 21 months of my first two years of life.
I was an emergency medical technician before I graduated high school.
I wanted to be a paramedic, but started having panic attacks.
I was a Scout of one kind or another from 2nd grade through high school.
I was in Civil Air Patrol.
I play flute, oboe, baritone saxophone, and various and sundry tin-whistles.
I sing. Used to be soprano, but the voice has aged. On a bad day I can sing baritone.
I graduated from Ball State University with a Bachelor's of General Studies.
My 3 minors were Classical Culture, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, and Home Economics.
I wanted to be a teacher.
I rode on the equestrian team for a season.
I can beat most people at Trivial Pursuit.
I learned how to knit when I was 7.
I didn't really learn how to sew until college when I joined the SCA.
I made about half of the outfits for my second wedding.
We had a Medieval wedding (Henry VI).
We went to Williamsburg on our honeymoon.
I’ve been in the SCA for 20 years.
Besides knitting and sewing, I also do cross stitch, smocking, needlepoint, and a bit of quilting.
I’d like to open a yarn shop.
I don’t like to cook.
I also scrapbook and have started into rubber stamps.
I’ve been to most of the states east of the Mississippi, except the Carolinas, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine.
I’ve been to California twice. That was enough.
I’ve been to Walt Disney World once. I want to take my son.
My favorite place to sit and veg-out is my cousin’s back porch in Charleston, West Virginia.
I can drive from Indy to Charleston in about 6 hours.
I’ve been to West Germany (prior to the wall coming down), Luxembourg, and Iceland.
I want to live in Ireland for a year (or more)
I’ve never been to the Indy 500.
I love to stay up late.
I hate to get up in the morning, despite how much sleep I’ve gotten.
I suffer from depression.
Post Partum really sucks.
I have a fear of falling.
I hate to clean house.
I love watching Trading Spaces
My favorite flowers are bearded irises and lemon calla lilies.
I like strawberries.
Chocolate Covered Caramels. Yum.
I’m one degree separated from Ray Bradbury.
I had my photo in Rolling Stone magazine.
I went to high school with Cynda Williams (Spike Lee’s “Mo’Better Blues”)
I like sushi.
I don’t like most cooked fish.
I like yogurt.
I cannot stand bell peppers: green, red, yellow, any.
I can eat chilies.
I like bar-b-que almost anything.
I love Pizza King pizza. It’s a local thing.
I delivered pizza in college.
I worked at the campus art museum.
I worked at Conner Prairie Living History Museum.
I worked at the Indianapolis Museum of Art.
I worked at and lived in the Morris-Butler House Museum.
I started to get my art history degree, but got divorced instead.
I’ve worked as a bookkeeper for 4 years.
I really hate my job.
I’ve camped in below freezing weather in January.
I’ve camped in blistering heat in August.
I only took my SATs once.
I have lost a loved one to suicide.
I had no grandparents living by the time I was in 6th grade.
My favorite car was my bright yellow Ford Escort.
I learned to drive in a Mercury station wagon.
I’ve driven a Cadillac ambulance.
I’ve been canoeing on the White, Wabash, and Flat Rock Rivers and Fall Creek and Sugar Creek in Indiana.
I’ve entered sewing and knitting entries in the State Fair.
I got a blue ribbon on a pair of Bavarian Socks.
I was a water safety instructor in high school and college.
I cannot dive into a pool, but I can teach you how.
I do not like snakes.
I’ve known my best friend Kim for almost 20 years.
We are god-mothers for each other’s children.
I was her husband’s drinking buddy in college.
My hex-husband took her dancing in college.
I can install a hard drive into a computer.
According to my brother, I can make Excel sit up and beg.
I started working with computers before Windows.
I have used a Commodore SX-64 computer.
I’ve been called a computer geek.
This was harder than I thought it was going to be.

I'm going to bed.


Blogger Elspeth said...

Hey, I went to Williamsburg on my honeymoon too! (Among many of the other coincidences between us.) I love these 100 things things. Thanks for sharing!

11:41 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home